Sunday, 24 January 2016

£2 Too Much?

A customer who left a terrible review on TripAdvisor of a cafe and bistro in York may have been astounded to realise that their response was somewhat less than apologetic. Hannah C, from north Yorkshire, visited Bennett's Cafe & Bistro in High Petergate, York, for afternoon tea with friends on 7 December, but branded it "absolutely awful" in a review she titled "over-priced and very rude". She says she was on a "tight budget" so ordered hot water and a slice of lemon, which was late arriving. Then, to her dismay, the restaurant charged her £2 for her drink, which she complained was "too much for some water". In a reply to the post, the manager wrote: "I’m sorry that you feel that you were “ripped off” and I’ll try to explain why you weren’t." They went on to detail exactly what is involved in preparing and serving food and drink at a busy bistro like Bennett's - including the waiter's time, in which he "selected a knife, chopping board, got a lemon from the fridge, cut off a slice and put it in the cup. Then, he returned to the dining room, drew off the necessary hot water and carried the cup to your table."